Never Leave Anything Behind In Your Hotel Ever Again!

If you’re anything like me, the thought of losing anything in a hotel room makes your stomach twist into a knot. There’s a lot of stuff that I just can’t bear to lose, from the perfectly reasonable to the perfectly ridiculous. Laptop? Oh, heavens, no! Towel? Please, anything but that! The five year old earbuds that only play out of the right side? Don’t make me live without them!

Related: Up your InstaGame

That being said, I’ve come up with a pretty obsessive comprehensive system for my peace of mind to make sure that I don’t accidentally leave anything behind in my hotel room. It’s come in pretty handy over the past years, as I’ve saved a wide range of items from being lost forever, from phone chargers to cartons of eggs in the fridge. I’m going to share my system with you guys today so that you too can enjoy the peace of mind of never losing anything at the hotel ever again!

198kmabdjwuj4jpg

When I settle into a hotel, I don’t unpack, if it’s a short term stay. I’ve found that unpacking tends to mean that a lot of my stuff gets strewn in not so obvious places, so I’m more likely to leave it behind. Instead, I use my suitcase as my dresser. The only things that I hang in the closet are wet clothes and outerwear. I also avoid putting anything into drawers. Instead, my phone, charger, laptop, and purse go on top of the nightstand, couch, or desk when not in use. My toiletries never go under the washroom counter, instead, they go on top of it, all in a group so they’re more noticeable.

After packing all of the obvious stuff, I set my suitcase aside and do two thorough searches of the room. First, I’ll go into the washroom and check the floor of the shower stall and any shower caddies or soap dishes inside. I’ll check on the towel rack, between and underneath any towels that may be there, on the top of the toilet, behind the toilet, all over the floor, on the counter, and underneath the counter. I’ll check any shelving or cabinets in the room, regardless of whether I used it or not during my stay, because our memories tend to fail us at times like these. If there are any hotel towels, toiletries, etc. lying around, I make sure to look underneath them so that there’s nothing hiding underneath.

Related: 41 Ways to Save Big for Travel

Next, I’ll rummage through the bed to look for anything lurking beneath the duvet, between any additional sheets or blankets on the bed, under the runner, beneath the pillows, between the headboard and mattress, and underneath the bed. I’ll look on top of the nightstand, underneath the nightstand, and in the drawers and shelves, making sure to check for anything I might have left plugged in.

person-woman-apple-hotel

The TV cabinet, desk, and couch all happen to be places where I pile on my stuff, so I’ll check every nook and cranny there too. This means going through any outlets between or underneath them, all drawers, shelves, and cabinets, and behind any large items such as the TV. I make sure there’s nothing still hanging in the closet or thrown onto the shelf above or lying on the floor. Finally, I make a sweep of the floor, making sure I haven’t dropped anything. Sometimes I’ll ask the person I’m travelling with to do a search too (that’s usually when they roll their eyes and grumble that they’re never going to travel with me again).

Related: The Ultimate Packing List

If you’re in a room with a different configuration, the same principles apply. Make sure to look anywhere and everywhere you could put something, regardless of whether or not you actually did so when you settled in. Check everything, especially places where there are outlets. I cannot stress this enough: outlets are the sneaky little thieves trying to deprive you of your chargers!

All this may seem ridiculous to you, and you would be right. But if you are like me, and are petrified by the thought of losing something, this system only takes about five to ten minutes and gives you the peace of mind you need for the rest of your trip.

Do you have any other tips for not losing things in hotel rooms? We’d love to hear them! Tell us in the comments below, and as always, make sure to follow our blog and give us a thumbs up if you liked this post. Happy travels!

tips-forimprovingyour-blog

Author: Chelsea Mae

Chelsea Mae created Live Wanderfully to inspire other likeminded travelers, storytellers, and dreamers to embark on their next adventures. Live Wanderfully is now home to tons of travel resources: tips, tricks, and ramblings learned on the journey of a lifetime.

3 thoughts on “Never Leave Anything Behind In Your Hotel Ever Again!”

Leave a Reply

